top of page

Welcome to The 1940s Experience where living historian and novelist Cat T. Gardiner

travels with you to wartime America and beyond in her evocative WWII-era epic novels.

Cat's WW2-era debut novel, A Moment Forever, was a

2017 Next Generation Indie Book Award Romance Finalist.

She is currently working on a two-volume Flying with the Swallows adventure:

The Lisbon Affair, Volume One and Rendezvous in Berlin, Volume Two.


Between writing and WWII home front reenacting,

Cat takes her readers on a forties journey here at The 1940s Experience blog and gallery.

Flying With the Swallows
A Moment Forever
Award Winning Novel

"In my lifetime of reading there have only been a few stories that have stayed with me, where the characters lived on after I closed the book - this is one of them."

Seasons in Time Box Set Cover